top of page
Search

12/23/20 My Goals for 2021:

In my last blog, I wrote about some of my goals I had for 2020. I have always set new year's resolutions. This was my most successful year yet for sure. With so much free time due to the pandemic, I was able to dedicate a lot of effort toward my goals, even exceeding some of them. I learned the best ways to accomplish my goals and stick to them. I have been running the YouTube marathon for over six months now and I am determined to keep going. Today, I am going to be sharing some of my plans for 2021.


My plan for 2020 was to live a less wasteful, more sustainable lifestyle. With that, I learned about intentional, simple, content living with less stuff. It started out with waste, but has now really become a lifestyle as I chose to eat different foods, transport differently, and spread the word in a variety of ways. When I think about it, I’m not even sure why I thought going “zero waste” would be fun or cool (or achievable), but I am so glad I did and therefore started the journey.


My goals for 2021 really have not changed. I live a very balanced life already. Yet, I understand there is always so much room for growth. That will come with time. I plan to continue to produce content for people on social media and reduce the amount of waste in my personal life. I also want to be able to make a large impact in my community. By that, I am referring to my local, state, country, world, the possibilities are endless.


My problem with new year’s resolutions is that I don’t believe one single day, month, week, year, whatever is going to make a difference. You aren’t going to be a superhero when you wake up on January first. I think when you have a goal, you should just try it. Instead of talking about it, do it. I think this is how many things in “the real world” work. When people ask me what I want to be when I grow up, I don’t have an answer. I don’t want to “become” anything. (Just a better version of myself.) I do what I love everyday and why would I stop? To get to this point however, took some trial and error. I had to try a number of ideas before I could figure out what I really enjoy. I still have so many ideas, and like I’ve mentioned before my plan will pivot and my path will take a turn.


I told none of my immediate friends what I wanted to do because I didn’t want to put myself in a situation where I would be accountable to do something I wasn’t happy doing or that simple isn’t manageable. (Note: I’m not saying you shouldn’t make yourself accountable to do achievable things in other contexts.) This is also why even though in my head I told myself, I am going to go zero waste, I only shared with others that, “I wanted to live a more sustainable lifestyle.” Now that I have been living the more sustainable lifestyle for a year, I know I can continue to do that and actually achieve my goals. This is what keeps me motivated: Success. Of course, I would love to get to a point where I make such little trash that I don’t pay for a service to pick it up outside of my house. That is a big goal, however. I expect that to take time.


I have been relatively general in this blog today so I thought I would end with some more specific goals. In terms of Our Future Is Mars, my goal is to continue to consistently and constantly provide new and improved content for all of my followers. This means I am going to keep uploading a manageable amount of content: two videos a week, one blog a week, one monthly newsletter (this could change), and daily content to grow on other social media platforms. I have grown from zero to thirty five subscribers in these past six months on my YouTube channel. I would love to tripple that and achieve over 100 subscribers by the end of 2021. This feels like a big goal right now, and over time, I believe I can grow. I am sure I will be writing an article very similar to this one next year at this time. And I can’t wait to share about all of my accomplishments.


I encourage you all to set some New Year's resolutions this year as well. Sustainability is always a great goal to have! And stay tuned for next week's blog. I will give advice for anyone looking to actually fulfill their goals this year.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

100 ways to be sustainable

1. Reduce 2. Reuse 3. Recycling 4. Rot and compost food and organic matter 5. Repair 6. Regift 7. Refuse 8. Rethink 9. Recover 10. Go to your local library and while you’re there read about sustainabi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page